Pop of Glitter

I decided to make a post about the past eye makeup look I did when I celebrated my 20th birthday last October. I thought it would be exciting to share because of the glitter I used on my lid. Think of it as a tutorial, I guess! As always, you don’t have to use the exact same products I use, I will list down any dupes for the higher end products if I can think of any. This is another eye look I used the sandwich method in, but I think it’s a fun look! Keep on reading if you would like to know how I achieved this look. If you can’t see the products in the pictures clearly, you can click on it to enlarge it.

Products used for this look 
Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Dark Brown ($23), Nars Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base ($25), Anastasia Beverly Hills Tamanna (Dressyourface) Palette ($29), MicaBeauty Cosmetics Shimmer Powder in Beige ($15), Garden Botanika Eyeshadow in Chestnut ($7), Wet n Wild Confetti in White Icing ($3), NYC Liquid Eyeliner in Black ($3), Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeliner in Nude ($3-$4), Buxom Cosmetics Eyeliner Pencil in Call Me ($17), Natalie Lashes by Flutter Lashes ($35), Precious Bottom Lashes by House of Lashes ($7), Nars Audacious Lipstick in Anna ($32). Remember that you can substitute all the items to fit your preference, I’m just posting this to hopefully inspire you. Feel free to change it up!

Step One – Apply an eyeshadow primer/base. I used Nars Smudgeproof Eyeshadow Base because I have really oily lids. My favorite drugstore eyeshadow primer is Elf’s eyelid primer ($1). You want an eyeshadow base to help with the longevity of the eyeshadows we will be packing on and prevent creasing of the eye makeup.

Step Two – Taking a color called Bengal from the Dressyourface Palette, apply this into the crease. This shade will act as our transition shade. Any light brown eyeshadow will work as a transition color in this look. I’ve marked the eyeshadow with a purple heart in the picture to the right (click to enlarge). I used a Sigma Beauty E40 brush ($16) to apply this shade into my crease. You can use any fluffy blending brush you want. Some similar brushes to the E40 is the Morphe MB23 Round Blender ($6) and BH Cosmetics Universal Blending Brush ($4). When blending, I find that alternating between wind shield wiping motions and circular motions work best for blending out the shade/shades.

Step Three – Taking the Garden Botanika Eyeshadow in Chestnut, apply the shade on the outer and inner portion of the eye and also just a little below the transition shade that we used. This is the start of the sandwich method. You want to the leave the center of the lid free of color for the time being. Any dark red brown shade would work. To apply this shade I used my Elf blending eye brush ($1) and to blend it out nicely I use my Sigma E25 brush ($14). A brush similar to the Sigma E25 is Morphe’s S12 brush ($3). The picture to the left shows the eyeshadow from Garden Botanika (click to enlarge). You also want to apply this shade on the inner and outer part of your lower lashline. I used a Sonia Kashuk medium eyeshadow brush ($6) to apply this color on the lower lashline.

Step Four – Taking the MicaBeauty Cosmetics shimmer powder in Beige, using a patting motion I applied this to the center of the lid. This will be our pop of color. Any light pink shade would work. I applied this color wet (with my Mac Fix+) because it makes the color even more intense and more metallic looking. That step is optional, you may apply it dry if you would like. I used the same brush that I used for my lower lashline in the previous step, Sonia Kashuk’s medium eyeshadow brush. To make this shadow blend with the Chestnut eyeshadow, I lightly blended the colors together. Make sure you don’t overblend since you do not want the Chestnut shade to be on the center of the lid. You only want the light shade to be in the center of the lid. The picture to the right shows the shimmer powder from MicaBeauty Cosmetics (click to enlarge). If you don’t want to spend $15 bucks on the shimmer powder, Nyx has a great dupe called “Ultra Pearl Mania” ($3), they have a lot of shades to choose from. If you would like a shade similar to Beige, I would choose Pale Pearly Pink. After you applied this shade to the center of your lid, also apply the shade to the center of your lower lashline. You are basically doing the sandwich method for your lower lashline as well.

Step Five – This is the fun step! It’s what makes the eye look truly pop. Taking the Wet n Wild Confetti in White Icing, I sprayed a small eyeshadow brush with Mac’s Fix+ to allow the glitter to stick onto the brush. If you are using this confetti, I really suggest you wet your brush first so that the product can stuck on or else it doesn’t really stick when applied dry with a brush. You can also use your finger as well to apply this. Apply the glitter to the center lid on top of that Beige color we previously used. You can also try applying a glitter adhesive onto the center of your lid, Too Faced has an amazing glitter adhesive called “Shadow Insurance Glitter Adhesive” ($20). The picture of the left shows the glitter from Wet n Wild (click to enlarge). I suggest doing your eye makeup first before foundation so that you don’t have any fall out but if you have already done your face first, use a shadow shield or a tissue under your eye when applying the glitter on to catch any fallout. After you’ve applied the glitter to the center of your lid, apply the glitter on top of the Beige Shade on your lower lashline. I find that using a wet brush for this part is easier than applying it with your finger. After applying the glitter to the lower lashline, I applied the color called Blush from the Dressyourface palette (not shown) to the tear duct area and the color called Fresh (also from the dressyourface palette) to my brow bone area. Any shimmery champagne eyeshadow and matte cream eyeshadow will do. On the right hand side, I’ve provided a picture of how all the product look (click to enlarge) I tried doing some swatches but I had a difficult time getting it into focus on the camera.

Step Six – Finish the look off by lining your eyes and applying falsies. I did a typical winged liner look with my NYC lPop of glitteriquid liner with dramatic lashes. For my waterline, I lined it with the Rimmel scandaleyes in nude and the lower lashline I lined it with my Buxom eyeliner in Call Me. I then applied my Precious bottom lashes by House of Lashes to my bottom lashline. Finally, I finished it off by applying a pink lipstick by Nars. Here’s the picture of the eye look up close (click to enlarge).

I hope you guys enjoyed this tutorial post for this fun look! I would definitely wear this for a night out or special event. Let me know if you want more posts like this down below. If you have any questions don’t be afraid to ask me! I really appreciate all the follows, likes, and commentsI’ve gotten since I revived this blog a few days ago. I look forward to sharing more things with you guys! Here’s one last picture of myself wearing this look (click to enlarge). -Monair

DON’T FORGET TO FOLLOW ME ON:
Instagram | Tumblr | Twitter

All other social media pages are located at the bottom of my homepage as icon links.

5 thoughts on “Pop of Glitter

Leave a Reply

